State of Alaska

Alaska is by far the largest U.S. state by area, comprising more total area than the next three largest states (Texas, California, and Montana) combined. It represents the seventh largest subnational division in the world.

It is the third-least populous and the most sparsely populated state, but by far the continent’s most populous territory located mostly north of the 60th parallel, with a population of 736,081 as of 2020—more than quadruple the combined populations of Northern Canada and Greenland. Approximately half of Alaska’s residents live within the Anchorage metropolitan area. The state capital of Juneau is the second-largest city in the United States by area, comprising more territory than the states of Rhode Island and Delaware. The former capital of Alaska, Sitka, is the largest U.S. city by area.

Alaska was occupied by various indigenous peoples for thousands of years before the arrival of Europeans. The state is considered the entry point for the settlement of North America by way of the Bering land bridge. The Russians were the first Europeans to settle the area beginning in the 18th century, eventually establishing Russian America, which spanned most of the current state. The expense and difficulty of maintaining this distant possession prompted its sale to the U.S. in 1867 for US$7.2 million (equivalent to $133 million in 2020), or approximately two cents per acre ($4.74/km2). The area went through several administrative changes before becoming organized as a territory on May 11, 1912. It was admitted as the 49th state of the U.S. on January 3, 1959.

While it has one of the smallest state economies in the country, Alaska’s per capita income is among the highest, owing to a diversified economy dominated by fishing, natural gas, and oil, all of which it has in abundance. United States armed forces bases and tourism are also a significant part of the economy; more than half the state is federally owned public land, including a multitude of national forests, national parks, and wildlife refuges.

The indigenous population of Alaska is proportionally the highest of any U.S. state, at over 15 percent. Close to two dozen native languages are spoken, and Alaskan Natives exercise considerable influence in local and state politics.

Alaska State Flower: Forget-Me-Not

Weddings in Alaska

Requirements

    • Tests: No blood test or physical exam is required.
    • Residency: Residents and nonresidents are eligible to apply for a marriage license.
    • Age: Both parties must be 18 years of age or older to marry without parental consent. A birth certificate may be required to show proof of age. EXCEPTION: Persons who are less than 18 years of age and who are members of the armed forces of the United States while on active duty will not be required to provide parental consent. Military papers will be required to show proof of active duty status. Persons ages 16 and 17 must submit a parental consent form signed by both parents with their application. If one parent is the sole custodian of the minor, a divorce decree stating custody rights or a death certificate must be presented as well. Alaska law does not permit those under the age of 16 to marry without a court order. If either party is under eighteen, contact the Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics at (907) 465-3391 for additional instructions before completing the application.
    • Location: An Alaskan marriage license is valid only for marriages performed in Alaska or in Alaska State waters.
    • Waiting Period: There is a three (3) business day waiting period that begins once a mailed or faxed application with payment is received by the issuing office. This means that you must wait at least three full business days after the application is submitted before you can pick up the license and the marriage ceremony can be performed. If you need to receive your marriage license quickly, and cannot pick up in person, please include $9.00 for Priority Mail with tracking or $26 for Express Mail. Both methods are trackable. Regular mail can take up to 4 weeks or longer. Your total for the Marriage License Application and Shipping would be either ($69) or ($86), depending on your shipping method.
    • License Expiration: The license is valid for three (3) months from the date of issuance. The marriage must be performed before the three-month expiration of the license or the license will no longer be valid. Refunds and extensions cannot be granted.
    • Marriage by Proxy: Proxy marriages (where someone stands in for the other party) are not permitted in Alaska. The two parties must be present before the two witnesses and the officiant in order for the ceremony to be performed.
    • Divorced Applicants: All divorces must be final and filed with the courts in the state granted. If either party has been married previously, the beginning and ending dates of all previous marriages must be listed on the application. Submitting a copy of a divorce decree is only required if the divorce or dissolution occurred less than sixty days prior to applying for the marriage license.

Featured Wedding Officiants in Alaska

Recent Articles

Alaska's Top Rated Wedding Officiants

Questions?

Reach out.

Platform

How It Works

Getting started is super easy. Find and connect with officiants or reach more customers in no time.

Listing 101

Learn all about our platform and all of the features that are available to you, so you can reach more customers.

Pricing

Our pricing is simple and transparent. Our customers can upgrade, downgrade or cancel their plan at any time.